Kent County Government - Planning, Housing, and Zoning

R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr. Kent County Government Center
400 High Street
Chestertown, MD 21620
Tel: (410) 778-7475
Fax: (410) 810-2932

Hours of Operation:
8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Monday - Friday 


Press Release: Comprehensive Plan Public Form Scheduled for November 2, 2016

For information on the 2016 Comprehensive Plan Update, please click here


The Department of Planning and Zoning serves the present and future inhabitants of Kent County, Maryland by:

  • Conducting immediate and long-range planning;
  • Providing for the preservation and enhancement of the attractiveness of the county through good design and arrangement and by assuring the provision of adequate public utilities, services and facilities;
  • Protecting Kent County's significant natural and historic resources and historic areas against destruction or encroachment;
  • Protecting and preserving Kent County's agricultural industry and the prime agricultural soils essential to the conduct of this industry;
  • Implementing programs to improve substandard housing and developing new programs to address the need for workforce housing.
  • Providing for the development of a light industrial base, and
  • Directing development into appropriate locations.


Amy Moredock

Director of Planning, Housing and Zoning

(410) 778-7473

Stephanie Jones

Environmental Planner

(410) 778-7426

Katrina Tucker

Community Planner

(410) 810-2220

Carla Gerber

GIS Specialist

(410) 778-7474

M. Richard Myers

Chief Code Enforcement Officer

(410) 778-7437

Bryan Foreman

Code Enforcement Officer

(410) 778-7457

Sandy Adams

Office Manager

(410) 778-7475

Beth Grieb

Permit Technician

(410) 778-7423

Tonya Thomas

Project Technician

(410) 778-7467