Public Hearings - Agricultural Land Preservation Districts

Back to Public Hearings

PUBLIC HEARING - June 23, 2015

Agricultural Land Preservation Districts

A public hearing was held today at 6:22 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the voluntary creation of Agricultural Land Preservation Districts for the following:

Virginia Lynn Foster, Tolchester Road (Map 45, Parcel 26 and Map 46, Parcel 54) 155.169 acres

Jennifer Debnam, Augustine Herman Highway and Vansants Corner Road, Lot 2 (Map 14, Parcel 31) 100 acres

County Commissioners, William W. Pickrum and William A. Short were in attendance as well as Ernest A. Crofoot, County Administrator and County Attorney, Amy Moredock, Director, Katrina Tucker, Community Planner, Planning, Housing, and Zoning, and one applicant, Jennifer Debnam.

Notice of the public hearing was read into the record by Commissioner Pickrum.

Ms. Tucker reviewed the applications and the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF) guidelines. The Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board reviewed the applications at their meeting on April 22, 2015, and unanimously submitted favorable recommendations to the Planning Commission. At its meeting on May 7, 2015, the Planning Commission found that both applications are consistent with the Comprehensive Plan and meet the criteria for the creation of an agricultural land preservation district, and forwarded favorable recommendations for approval of both districts to the County Commissioners.

Commissioner Pickrum asked if anyone in the audience wished to comment on the applications. No one else from the audience wished to comment. On motion by Commissioner Short and seconded by Commissioner Pickrum, the Commissioners approved the two applications by majority. Commissioner Pickrum signed the two agreements establishing agricultural land preservation districts.

The hearing was taped for reference and on a motion by Commissioner Short and seconded by Commissioner Pickrum, the Commissioners agreed by majority to adjourn the public hearing at 6:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sondra M. Blackiston, Clerk

William W. Pickrum, President
The County Commissioners
of Kent County, Maryland