Public Hearings - Agricultural Land Preservation Zoning Districts

Back to Public Hearings

PUBLIC HEARING - April 5, 2016

Agricultural Land Preservation Zoning Districts

April 5, 2016


A public hearing was held today at 6:11 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the voluntary creation of Agricultural Land Preservation Districts for the following:

Bruce E. McCoy and Sarah Westcott McCoy, Shallcross Road (Tax Map 14, Parcel 63), 144 acres

Casey C. Owings and Megan B. Owings, River Road (Tax Map 30, Parcels 45 and 7) 132.64 acres

County Commissioners, William W. Pickrum, and William A. Short were in attendance as well as Shelley Herman, County Administrator, Tom Yeager, County Attorney, Katrina Tucker, Community Planner, Planning, Housing, and Zoning, and one applicant, Megan B. Owings. Scott Wickes Westcott was present to represent Bruce E. McCoy and Megan B. Owings.

The Notice of the Public Hearing was read into the record by Commissioner Pickrum. Ms. Tucker clarified that the acreage published on the Notice of Public Hearing for Mr. McCoy and Ms. Owings was incorrect. The acreage should be corrected to reflect 144 acres.

Ms. Tucker reviewed the applications and the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF) guidelines. The Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board reviewed the applications at their meeting on February 17, 2016, and unanimously submitted favorable recommendations to the Planning Commission. At its meeting on March 3, 2016, the Planning Commission found that both applications are consistent with the Comprehensive Plan and meet the criteria for the creation of an agricultural land preservation district, and forwarded favorable recommendations for approval of both districts to the County Commissioners.

Commissioner Pickrum asked if anyone in the audience wished to comment on the applications. No one else from the audience wished to comment.

The hearing was taped for reference and on a motion by Commissioner Short and seconded by Commissioner Pickrum, the Commissioners agreed to adjourn the public hearing at 6:16 p.m., by majority.

Respectfully submitted,

Sondra M. Blackiston, Clerk
William W. Pickrum, President
The County Commissioners
of Kent County, Maryland