Public Hearings - Comprehensive Water and Sewarage Plan Amendment- E

Back to Public Hearings

PUBLIC HEARING - November 18, 2008

Comprehensive Water and Sewarage Plan Amendment- E


November 18, 2008

A public hearing was held today at 9:00 a.m. in the County Commissioners’ Hearing Room, County Government Center, Chestertown, Maryland, for the purpose of amending the Comprehensive Water and Sewerage Plan to include the proposed extension of the existing water and sewer lines from the end of the existing service area on Lover’s Lane to serve 11 properties approximately 0.5 miles along Lover’s Lane in the Fifth Election District.

Commissioner Crow read the Notice of Public Hearing into the record.

The County Commissioners propose to extend the existing water and sewer lines to serve 11 lots which have been declared to have/had failing septic systems. Notwithstanding the policy on denied access lines in section 1.9 of this plan, access will be granted only for parcels #22, #41, #136, #154, #21, #50, #51, #52, #53, #57, #100 and is denied to all other parcels including agricultural parcels adjoining the service area right of way and any future lots that may be subdivided after the date of this amendment from parcel 18.

The County is proposing to request a combination of grant/loan funding from Rural Development and/or the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) to pay for extension of both lines.

County Commissioners Roy Crow, Ronald Fithian, and William Pickrum, were in attendance as well as Susanne Hayman, County Administrator, Karl Weed, Deputy Director, Department of Water and Wastewater Services, three interested persons and two members of the media.

Mr. Weed stated that this extension will specifically address 11 failing septic system in the Edesville area, west of the service area.

Tom Leigh, Chester River Association (CRA), expressed support of this project on behalf of the CRA.

This hearing was taped for reference and adjourned at 10:32 a.m.

Janice F. Fletcher
Executive Assistant

Roy W. Crow, President