Welcome to the Kent County Commissioners' page. We would very much like to hear from you on matters pending before us and with your suggestions for additional information you would like see on the Kent County government web site. Please contact us at The Commissioners meet every Tuesday at 6 p.m. in the Commissioners' Hearing Room, unless otherwise advertised.

William W. Pickrum, President–Commissioner Pickrum has served as a Kent County Commissioner since 2002. He is the Deputy Director of Government Support Services in the Office of Management and Budget for the State of Delaware and an Adjunct Professor at Delaware State University.

Commissioner Pickrum was a First Officer Pilot for Florida Gulf Airlines, Inc., a commuter airline serving the US Airways system. He provided flight, navigation and passenger services. William had a distinguished career for over 22 years as an officer in the United States Coast Guard with duties including Program Analyst, Chief of the Search and Rescue Branch, Operations Officer, Pilot/Supply Officer, National Search and Rescue School Instructor, Pilot/Supply Officer, Pilot/Administration Officer.

Commissioner Pickrum received his Bachelor of Science from the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, a Master of Arts (Administration) from Chapman College and Doctor of Public Administration studies at New York University. He currently serves as a member of the Maryland Association of Counties' Legislative Committee, the Kent County Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, Board of Directors of the Maryland Broadband Cooperative and previously served on the Upper Shore Aging Board of Directors.

Ronald H. Fithian, MemberCommissioner Fithian is a lifelong resident of Rock Hall, MD who not only serves his County, but also serves his town as Town Manager since 1997.

Commissioner Fithian first served as commissioner in 1994, serving two terms that ended in 2002. Commissioner Fithian then served a term from 2006 2010, and is currently serving as president until 2014. From 1970-1997, Commissioner Fithian was employed as a waterman for the Maryland Seafood Industry.

 Commissioner Fithian served as a member on the Local Government Advisory Committee, and currently serves on the Kent County Waterman's Association, Kent County Public Landings and Facilities Board, Kent County Local Management Board and Social Services Board. He is also a member of the Elks Lodge No. 2474, Rock Hall American Legion Post #228 and Chester Masonic Lodge #115.

Alexander Rasin - Lent County Commissioer

William A. Short, Member– Commissioner Short is a lifelong resident of Kent County and the Acting CEO of Creative Treatments, a national distributor of drapery hardware products to interior designers nationwide. He served in the U.S. Army from 1988-1992 as a Communication System Operator.

His community service has included the Local Management Board, Babe Ruth Baseball Coach, Character Counts Representative and Cemetery Warden–Shrewsbury Church.

He currently is a cohost of a radio talk show on WCTR and is President of the Republicans of Kent.




Ernie Crofoot, County Administrator–Ernest A. Crofoot joined Kent County, Md. as County Administrator and County Attorney on December 12, 2012.  He recently served Caroline County as its first in-house, full time County Attorney after having provided legal services to Caroline County as a partner in the law firm of Funk & Bolton, P.A.
Mr. Crofoot has extensive experience in the areas of local government law, personnel law, public information, open meetings, real estate transactions, planning and zoning law, cable franchise regulation, public finance, tax-exempt organizations, adult business regulation, drafting and reviewing legislation, water and sewer operations, and business transactions. Mr. Crofoot is a graduate of The Johns Hopkins University (A.S., Accounting) and The University of Baltimore School of Law (J.D., cum laude, Heuisler Honor Society, 1982).