NOTICE

All County Offices will be CLOSED on Friday, June 18, 2021 in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday.


juneteenth
 

Kent County Government - Planning, Housing, and Zoning

R. Clayton Mitchell, Jr. Kent County Government Center
400 High Street
Chestertown, MD 21620
Tel: (410) 778-7423
Fax: (410) 810-2932 

Hours of Operation:
8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Monday - Friday

 

The Department of Planning, Housing and Zoning is open, and we are able to process your permit and project submissions. Please review our updated interim procedures for submittals while the County Government Center at 400 High Street is open for limited access by appointment only.

 

Administrative Hearing Agendas:

Karen Lee and Keyashia Mitchell-Lee (Craig W. Austin) - Administrative Special Exception (Day Care Group)

 

The Department of Planning, Housing and Zoning serves the present and future inhabitants of Kent County, Maryland by:

  • Conducting immediate and long-range planning;
  • Providing for the preservation and enhancement of the attractiveness of the county through good design and arrangement and by assuring the provision of adequate public utilities, services and facilities;
  • Protecting Kent County's significant natural and historic resources and historic areas against destruction or encroachment;
  • Protecting and preserving Kent County's agricultural industry and the prime agricultural soils essential to the conduct of this industry;
  • Implementing programs to improve substandard housing and developing new programs to address the need for workforce housing.
  • Providing for the development of a light industrial base, and
  • Directing development into appropriate locations.

Staff

William Mackey

Director of Planning, Housing, and Zoning

(410) 778-7473
E-mail: wmackey@kentgov.org

Carla Gerber

Deputy Director of Planning, Housing, and Zoning

(410) 778-7474
E-mail: cgerber@kentgov.org

 

Associate Planner

 

Mike Bitting

Chief Code Enforcement Officer

(410) 778-7437
E-mail: mbitting@kentgov.org

Bryan Foreman

Code Enforcement Officer

(410) 778-7457
E-mail: bforeman@kentgov.org

Sandy Adams

Office Manager

(410) 778-7475
E-mail: sadams@kentgov.org

Beth Grieb

Permit Technician

(410) 810-2223
E-mail: mgrieb@kentgov.org

 

 Planning Technician