Planning Commission

What Does It Do?

The Planning Commission, appointed by the County Commissioners of Kent County, acts as a citizen board for all planning matters. It reviews and approves all major subdivisions and site plans. It makes recommendations to the Board of Zoning Appeals regarding variances and special exceptions. As set forth in the Land Use Article of the Annoted Code of Maryland, the Commission makes recommendations to the County Commissioners on zoning map and zoning text amendments. The Commission may also prepare ordinances and plans for review by the County Commissioners.

Prior to each meeting, the planning staff visits each site and prepares for the commission members a memo on each project which describes the project, the applicable law, applicable sections of the comprehensive plan, relevant issues and comments from the Technical Advisory Committee. It provides a recommendation to the commission on all projects.

Who Are Its Members?


Elizabeth H. Morris


Ed Birkmire


William Crowding, II


F. Joseph Hickman


Kim Kohl


James Saunders


William S. Sutton


Members of the commission are appointed for five year terms. The chairman is elected by the members every March.


When and Where Does it Meet?

The Planning Commission meets the first Thursday of every month at 1:30 PM in the County Commissioners' Hearing Room at 400 High Street in Chestertown. The meetings are open to the public. The agendas for all meetings are available on the internet (click here) or from the Department of Planning, Housing and Zoning prior to the meeting.