Public Hearings - Agricultural Land Preservation District

Back to Public Hearings

PUBLIC HEARING - June 26, 2012

Agricultural Land Preservation District

A public hearing was held today at 6:50 p.m. regarding the voluntary creation of Agricultural Land Preservation Districts for the following:

Angelica Nurseries, Inc., 229.89 acre, 230 acre, and 295.14 acre farms located on Locust Grove Road, 2nd Election District.

County Commissioners William W. Pickrum, William A. Short and Ronald Fithian were in attendance as well as Susanne Hayman, County Administrator.

Notice of the public hearing was read into the record by Commissioner Fithian.

Elizabeth H. Morris, Chairman, Planning Commission provided a letter advising that the Commission had reviewed the applications from Angelica Nurseries, Inc. to establish agricultural land preservation districts on three of their farms. The Planning Commission voted to recommend approval of the districts, finding that the applications are consistent with the Comprehensive Plan and meet the criteria for the creation of an agricultural land preservation district. Also included was a letter from William Cooper, Chairman of the Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board stating the Board unanimously voted to recommend approval of the applications.

Carla Gerber, Community Planner, Planning, Housing and Zoning explained that creating an agricultural land preservation district is the first step in applying to sell an easement. Ms. Gerber further explained that landowners can back out of districts; however, if a landowner has accepted an easement offer and settlement has taken place, then the easement is perpetual.

Commissioner Fithian asked if anyone in the audience wished to comment on the applications. No one from the audience wished to comment. On motion by Commissioner Short and seconded by Commissioner Pickrum, the Commissioners unanimously approved the applications.

The hearing was taped for reference and on a motion by Commissioner Short and seconded by Commissioner Pickrum, the Commissioners unanimously agreed to adjourn the public hearing at 6:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sondra M. Blackiston, Clerk

Ronald H. Fithian, President
The County Commissioners
of Kent County, Maryland