Kent County Payment Options

For Kent County CoronaVirus Updates & County Building/Facility Closures, visit -

Kent County Agriculture Advisory Commission

(Term 3 years - 7 members)

Craig McSparran, 09/18/13 Sean Jones 9/18/14
Herman E. Hill, 09/18/13 Jennifer Debnam 4/5/19
W. Frank Barnes, Jr. 09/18/13 John Cahall 09/18/15
John Henry Myers, Jr. 09/18/14  Catherine Abramavage 12/31/23

Date indicates expiration of term.




 County Commissioners Meeting Room



January 13, 2021

6:30 p.m.


COVID-19 Special Announcement Regarding Meeting Attendance

In response to the State of Emergency, attending meetings in person is by appointment only to observe safety protocols related to social distancing. Meetings of the Kent County Agricultural Advisory Commission are live streamed (, and citizens may call in with questions when the Committee opens the floor for comment.

To participate via Microsoft Teams:

  1. Call 1-872-239-8359
  2. Enter Conference ID: 551 381 489#

To participate via the Kent County Conference Bridge service:

  1. Call 410-810-2213
  2. Enter PIN number 55266 when prompted.

 Please mute your phone / device until the Commission Chair opens the floor for comment.



 Zoning Text Amendment

#20-47 Zoning Text Amendment- AN ACT to amend the Kent County Land Use Ordinance by adding Subsection 10.8 to Article V, Section 1.2 to allow farm breweries as a permitted use in the Agricultural Zoning District “AZD”

.…………………………………………………………...…………………………......................................Recommendation to PC & CC

General Discussion



Posted Online: January 6, 2021


The Agriculture Advisory Commission meets as needed. 

Agendas will be posted as meetings are scheduled.





New minutes will be posted as they are approved.

Archived minutes will be posted as time allows.


This Commission was created under Code Home Rule Bill No. 6-80.

(Effective 9/02/80)
Chapter 172

6-4.1 Agriculture Advisory Commission

(a) The Board of County Commissioners of Kent County shall appoint a seven member commission which shall be known as the Kent County Agriculture Advisory Commission and which shall consist of a representative from each election district of Kent County. All persons appointed must be residents of Kent County, and must be actively engaged in an agriculture pursuit. The Commission may be selected from a list containing at least two names of persons living in each election district prepared by the existing Kent County Agriculture Advisory Commission. If any vacancy occurs for any cause during the term of a Commission member, the Board of County Commissioners, with regard to those persons in agriculture, may fill the vacancy from a list of at least two names supplied by the Commission from the election district where the former Commission member lived. The Board of County Commissioners shall have full power to remove any member of the Commission for incompetency or for improper conduct or for an inexcusable non-attendance of meetings, by satisfactory evidence being presented to it of such condition. The term of each member shall be three years or until his successor takes office, except the respective terms of the members just appointed shall be on a staggered basis, with some members being appointed for one year, some two years, and some three years. No member shall serve more than two consecutive terms.

(b) The Commission shall elect a chairman from one of its members and create and fill such other offices as it may determine. The term of the chairman shall be one year with eligibility for re-election. The Commission shall hold a minimum of nine (9) meetings per year, shall adopt rules for the transaction of business, shall keep records of its resolutions, transactions, findings, and determinations. Each record shall be a public record. The Board of County Commissioners shall determine from year to year what, if any, expenses and/or salaries shall be paid the Commission members, and what, if any, budget shall be set.

(c) It shall be the function of the Commission to provide advice to the Planning Commission of Kent County and to the Board of County Commissioners concerning any proposals in zoning changes coming before them affecting agriculture in Kent County. In this regard, the Planning Administrator shall notify the Commission of all such proposals, plans and changes except those applications for permitted uses, within fifteen (15) days of receipt of applications for such proposals, plans and changes; and the Commission shall render its advice in writing to the appropriate body within thirty (30) days of notification.

Additionally, the Commission shall recommend proposed changes or programs for improving the Comprehensive Plan, the Zoning Ordinance for Kent County, the Subdivision Ordinance for Kent County, Zoning District changes, and any other changes and programs which will improve and promote agriculture in Kent County. All such recommendations shall be made in writing to the Planning Commission and the Board of County Commissioners.

(d) The Commission shall annually prepare, adopt and file a report with the Board of County Commissioners. The annual report shall be available for public inspection. The Commission shall be subject to review by the Board of County Commissioners and the decisions of the Commission shall be subject to review by the Board of County Commissioners, which shall be the final authority.

(e) A majority of all the members appointed to the Commission shall constitute a quorum at any regular or special meeting of the Commission (Code Home Rule Bill No. 6-80)

$30.00 per meeting to be paid to Chairperson and $25.00 per meeting for members.