Kent County Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board

(Term 5 years - 5 members)

David Hill - Chair, 02/28/21 Ernest "Tot" Strong, 07/31/24
Davidson Coleman, 07/31/24 Tyler Gale, 07/31/25

Bradley Morris, 7/31/25


Date indicates expiration of term.






Kent County Government Center

County Commissioners' Hearing Room

June 16, 2021

 6:00 pm


Members of the public are now welcome to attend meetings in person, virtually, or via conference call. You may also listen to the meeting either online at OR via the audio-only phone number and conference identification number listed below. If listening to the meeting online, the way for members of the public to provide verbal comments during the meeting is via the audio-only phone number.

Public participation and audio-only call-in number:

  1. Dial 1-872-239-8359
  2. Enter Conference ID: 236 799 449#

Members of the public are asked to mute their phones/devices, until the Commission Chair opens the floor for comment. Please note that if you are listening to the online livestream while waiting to call in to participate, there is an approximately 45-second delay. In order to avoid audio feedback issues, please mute the livestream before calling in.


FY2022 Easement Application Rankings                                       Recommendation to CCs


Ag Preservation Districts

      Redman Family Farm LLC – 8689 Bakers Lane


      Goose Chase Farm LLC – Edesville Road


General Discussion



Meetings are conducted in Open Session unless otherwise indicated.  Meetings are subject to audio and video recordings.  Other business without assigned times may be discussed during the course of this meeting as time allows.


Meeting Packets


2020 2021
October 2020 March 2021
   June 2021


New minutes will be posted as they are approved.

Archived minutes will be posted as time allows.

October - Draft




Article - Agriculture, Section 2.504.1 of the Annotated Code of Maryland

(a) Appointment - In each county containing productive agricultural land, the county governing body shall appoint an agricultural preservation advisory board.

(b) Composition - The agricultural preservation advisory board shall consist of five members, at least three of whom shall be owner-operators of commercial farms who earn 50 percent or more of their income from farming.

(c) Terms -

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, each member of an agricultural preservation advisory board shall be appointed for a term of office of five years.

(2) In Charles County, a member shall serve a term of office of 4 years.

(3) No member shall serve for more than two consecutive full terms.

(4) Appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.

(d) Duties - Duties of each agricultural preservation advisory board shall be:

(1) To advise the county governing body with respect to the establishment of agricultural districts and the approval of purchases of easements by the foundation within the county.

(2) To assist the county governing body in reviewing the status of agricultural districts and land under easement.

(3) To advise the Foundation concerning county priorities for agricultural preservation.

(4) To approve or disapprove an application by the county for certification under §5-408 of the State Finance and Procurement Article.

(5) To promote preservation of agricultural within the county by offering information and assistance to farmers with respect to establishment of districts and purchase of easements.

(6) To perform any other duties as assigned by the county governing body.

$30.00 Chairperson; $25.00 Members per meeting attended not to exceed twelve meetings per year.