Kent County Planning Commission

(Term 5 years - 7 members)

Edward Birkmire, Commissioner Representative 11/30/19 Elizabeth H. Morris, Chairperson 12/30/20
William M. Crowding, II 12/31/19 William S. Sutton 01/07/18
James Saunders 12/31/18 Amy Moredock, Director of Planning and Zoning
F. Joseph Hickman 01/06/22 Mitchell Mowell, Attorney
Kim Kohl 01/06/22  
Date indicates expiration of term.

Originally established 01/24/64 - Article 66B, Section 3.02 of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Meets first Thursday of each month at 1:30 p.m. in the County Commissioners'
Hearing Room. $1,200 Chairman; $1,000 Members.


For Agendas and Minutes please visit:


§ 199-2. Composition. [Amended 5-7-1991 by Bill No. 2-91]

The Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members as follows:

A. A County Commissioner of Kent County may be appointed by the County Commissioners to serve as an ex officio members. The ex officio member shall vote only in the case of a tie by the six (6) other members.

B. In the event that the Kent County Commissioners appoint a seventh member to serve on the Planning Commission in lieu of a County Commissioner, said member shall be selected on the basis of qualifications and experience, have an unrestricted vote and shall serve no longer than the term of the County Commissioners making the appointment.

C. Six (6) other members shall be appointed by the Kent County Commissioners and shall be selected on the basis of their qualifications and experience.

§ 199-3. Terms

A. The term of office for each of the seven (7) members so appointed shall be five (5) years, or until a successor is appointed and takes office.

B. The ex officio member shall serve for the term of the office to which he was elected, unless replaced by another Commissioner to serve for a part of the term.